SCHOOL MANAGEMENT

Uwe Schüsterl

u.schuesterl@disr.edu.sa

- Principal-

 

Dear Parents,

 

For more than five years I have had the great pleasure of running the German International School Riyadh. Looking back, I can only wonder how quickly those years have passed. Of course, highlights of that time were the move of the DISR to a proper school building in one of the most attractive compounds in Riyadh and celebrating the 40th anniversary of the school in Saudi Arabia.

 

My professional career began at a comprehensive school in Berlin Wedding. There I started as a trainee teacher, then worked as a teacher with the subjects of mathematics and physics and took over in the last years provisionally the function of the deputy principal. This was followed by several years as a principal of a econdary intermediate  school in Berlin Pankow. After that, I was principal of an integrated secondary school in Berlin Mitte for 10 years and took on a part-time lecture position at the Humboldt University in Berlin. Since the summer of 2012, I live and work with my wife in Riyadh.

Dominik Mandel

d.mandel@disr.edu.sa

- Vice principal-

Born in the beautiful city of Heidenheim an der Brenz on the Swabian Alb and after several years teaching in Crailsheim, Baden-Wuerttemberg, I joined the German International School in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia in August 2015 as deputy principal

 

After having two wonderful internships at the German European School Singapore during my teacher training course for the subjects German, English and Geography, my desire to conquer the world as a teacher at a German school abroad quickly grew. The previous travel to many countries made it easier to move to Saudi Arabia. In addition to a modern equipped school and motivated students I found here form y private life especially a breathtaking nature, a very warm German community and very hospitable Arabs.

 

I am the vice principal at DISR and, in addition to many other tasks, I am responsible in particular for the organization of the class schedules and substitute teaching schedules and the assignment of teachers.

Please reload

 

PRIMARY SCHOOL

 

Silvia Salameh

s.salameh@disr.edu.sa

-Principal primary school-

I was born in Schramberg in the beautiful Black Forest. After completing a teaching degree for the subjects Protestant Theology and Biology in Freiburg, I started my school career in 1988 in my home town.

 

In 2002, I sought a new challenge and completed a one-and-a-half-year training as a counseling teacher at the School Psychology Counseling Center. As of 2004, I worked at an additional five schools in educational counseling and counseling on school difficulties.

 

In August 2012, I arrived in Saudi Arabia together with my husband. Since then I lead the elementary school of the DISR. This task is a challenge that satisfies me and I still enjoy it.

Please reload

© 2018 Deutsche Internationale Schule Riad

SCHULLEITUNG

 

Uwe Schüsterl

u.schuesterl@disr.edu.sa

- Schulleiter-

 

Sehr geehrte Eltern,

seit mehr als fünf Jahren habe ich die große Freude, die Deutsche Internationale Schule Riad leiten zu dürfen. Wenn ich zurückblicke, kann ich nur erstaunt feststellen, wie schnell diese Jahre vergangen sind. Höhepunkte dieser Zeit waren natürlich der Umzug der DISR in ein richtiges Schulgebäude in einem der attraktivsten Compounds in Riad oder die Feierlichkeiten zum 40. Jahrestag dieser Schule in Saudi Arabien.

Meine berufliche Laufbahn begann zunächst an einer Gesamtschule in Berlin Wedding. Dort startete ich als Referendar, arbeitete dann als Lehrer mit den Fächern Mathematik und Physik und übernahm in den letzten Jahren kommissarisch die Funktion des Konrektors. Es folgten einige Jahre als Konrektor einer Realschule in Berlin Pankow. Danach war ich 10 Jahre Direktor einer integrierten Sekundarschule in Berlin Mitte und übernahm nebenberuflich einen Lehrauftrag an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Seit dem Sommer 2012 lebe und arbeite ich zusammen mit meiner Frau in Riad.

Dominik Mandel

d.mandel@disr.edu.sa

- stellv. Schulleiter-

In der schönen Stadt Heidenheim an der Brenz auf der Schwäbischen Alb geboren und nach mehrjähriger Lehrtätigkeit im baden-württembergischen Crailsheim bin ich seit August 2015 als Stellvertretender Schulleiter an die Deutsche Internationale Schule in Riad, Saudi-Arabien gewechselt.


Nachdem ich während meines Lehramtsstudiums für die Fächer Deutsch, Englisch und Geographie zwei wundervolle Praktika an der German European School Singapore hatte, wuchs schnell der Wunsch als von Deutschland entsandte Auslandsdienstlehrkraft die Welt zu erobern. Die zuvor schon vielen bereisten Länder auf der Erde machten den Schritt dann auch leichter, nach Saudi-Arabien zu gehen. Neben einer modern ausgestatteten Schule und motivierten Schülern fand ich hier besonders im Privatleben eine atemberaubende Natur, eine sehr herzliche deutsche Community und sehr gastfreundliche Araber vor.


Ich bin an der DISR als Vertreter des Schulleiters tätig und neben vielen weiteren Aufgaben insbesondere für die Gestaltung von Stunden- und Vertretungsplänen und den Einsatz der Lehrkräfte zuständig.

Please reload

 

PRIMARY SCHOOL

 

Silvia Salameh

s.salameh@disr.edu.sa

-Schulleiterin der Grundschule-

Ich bin in der Uhrenstadt Schramberg im schönen Schwarzwald geboren. Nach dem Lehramtsstudium für die Fächer Evangelische Theologie und Biologie in Freiburg, startete ich meine schulische Laufbahn 1988 an meinem Heimatort.

2002 suchte ich eine neue Herausforderung und absolvierte an der Schulpsychologischen Beratungsstelle eine eineinhalbjährige Ausbildung zur Beratungslehrerin. Ab 2004 war ich an zusätzlich fünf weiteren Schulen in der Bildungsberatung und der Beratung bei Schulschwierigkeiten tätig. 

Im August 2012 kam ich mit meinem Mann nach Saudi-Arabien. Seither leite ich die Grundschule der DISR. Diese Aufgabe ist eine Herausforderung, die mich erfüllt und mir nach wie vor großen Spaß macht.

Please reload

© 2018 Deutsche Internationale Schule Riad